(Oh no, not another) Hummus Recipe!

In the few weeks since I started blogging about food, hummus has cropped up in my posts twice. Once in a burger form, and once in a bite-sized snack form. Guess what? Today I’m making hummus again. The thing is, I absolutely love hummus. (Once I even made it with a mortar and pestle!) A bowl of hummus rarely lasts a day in my kitchen, and you could catch me having hummus in sandwiches, salads, wraps, and even pasta. Yup, you heard me right.
Hummus and pasta, it works.

But today we’re not going to talk about hummus and pasta. We’re celebrating hummus, and it shouldn’t have to share the spotlight. And this hummus does deserve the spotlight- it’s lemony, light and creamy, and the incorporation of toasted spices makes it delightfully earthy and aromatic. It’s just begging to be eaten!

Aerial 2

I came up with my own variation of hummus after many trials and errors. (And also many bowls of hummus!) I started out using half a cup of oil, and though it is reduced to 4 tablespoons in this recipe, this hummus is by no means low in fat or calories. Does it matter though? No, it does not! We all deserve some yummy hummus once in a short while. 😉

Evelyn Spices 2

I use garlic, coriander, ajwain, black mustard, and cumin in this hummus, but you can use any combination of spices you like. (Try cajun spice!) Some of these spices, especially ajwain, might be hard to find. But do give it a try if you can get your hands on it- ajwain aids in the digestion of beans and legumes, and also reduces gas.

Closeup

I like my hummus quite creamy and soft, so I boil my chickpeas until they get a little mushy. In the recipe below there is an option of adding in a little water if you prefer it creamier like me.

Aerial 3

Normally, tahini, a paste made out of tasted sesame seeds, is an essential part of a hummus. But because it’s near impossible to find reasonably-priced tahini in Hong Kong, I replace tahini with sesame oil, which has the same flavour and fragrance. If you have tahini on hand, feel free to use that instead.

Dip

I had my hummus with some flax crackers, and it was easily the best thing I’ve eaten all day. Now I’m off to fill my belly with more yummy hummus. If you’d like some, give the recipe a try! 🙂

Aerial

Lemony Hummus Recipe
(Makes 2 cups)

Ingredients

3/4 cup dried chickpeas (or 14 oz can chickpeas)
1 pinch baking soda (optional)
1 clove garlic
2 teaspoons coriander
1/4 teaspoon ajwain
1/4 teaspoon black mustard
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1 lemon, juice and zest of
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons water (optional, adjust amount as needed)
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste

paprika (optional, as garnish)
drizzle of sesame/ extra virgin olive oil (optional, as garnish)
parsley (optional, as garnish)

Directions

  1. Spread out chickpeas on a plate and pick out any dirt or blackened beans. Rinse in water and soak for 6 hours, or overnight.
  2. In the morning, drain and rinse chickpeas. Transfer to a saucepan with a pinch of baking soda and enough water to cover the chickpeas completely. Bring to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes, until tender. Drain well and set aside.
  3. If using canned chickpeas, drain and rinse well. Set aside.
  4. In a skillet on medium heat, toast the garlic and spices until the seeds begin to pop rapidly. Transfer to the food processor bowl immediately.
  5. Add chickpeas, lemon juice and zest, and the oils to the food processor. Process until smooth. Adjust the consistency by adding water as needed.
  6. Once the consistency is right, add in the salt and process a little more. Transfer to a serving bowl and garnish with a dusting of paprika, a drizzle of oil, and parsley. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “(Oh no, not another) Hummus Recipe!

Share your thoughts

