Pink Lady Smoothie

Smoothie Glass Wood (670x1024)

Most mornings my breakfast consists of a ginormous smoothie that I guzzle up on my way out the door. And unlike that dainty little glass of pinkness above, I do mean ginormous– I normally chug them from a passata bottle that measures 750mL, filled to the brim and sometimes followed by a refill!

My smoothie habit has been invaluable- getting my fix of carbs and sugar done in five minutes means I can get to my lessons on time despite hitting snooze twice! 🙂 This smoothie is something a little fancier, and instead of five minutes you’ll need perhaps seven, but rest assured! You will be rewarded with an awesomely pretty smoothie that will make you feel oh-so-very ladylike.

Banana Strawberry (1024x678)

What’s in this luscious-looking smoothie, m’lady?

Well we’ve got frozen bananas, fresh strawberries, coconut water, young coconut meat, and…

Grapefruit (1024x678)

… grapefruit.

“Grapefruit!?” I can already hear the outrage. “What kind of freak are you to put grapefruit in a perfectly enjoyable smoothie?”

No, no- wait! Just hear me out.

Ingredients Aerial (1024x678)

Grapefruit really isn’t the bitter and sour abomination that many people, including my brother, think it is. The bitterness comes mainly from the pith and the membranes of the fruit, while the sourness depends on how ripe the fruit is. Make sure your grapefruit is ripe, and carefully remove all of the pith and membranes. You will find it to be sweet, juicy and actually much more agreeable.

Ingredients (1024x678)

I use the water and meat from a fresh young coconut in the recipe, but feel free to substitute with store-bought coconut water and omit the coconut meat. Whatever you do, please don’t add dessicated coconut- it is much tougher and fattier than young coconut meat and will ruin the smoothie by making a grainy, greasy mess.

Smoothie Glasses Wood (678x1024)

How the heck am I supposed to open a coconut?

Good question. Sometimes I asked Evelyn for help and cower behind the fridge while she brutalizes the coconut. But I’ve stumbled across this helpful video that makes opening coconuts look like a piece of cake- it’s also an important life skill in case you are transported to an uninhabited tropical island full of coconut trees by a freak hurricane.

Smoothie Aerial (1024x678)

Speaking of important things in life, did I ever mention that I have a permanent box of ripe bananas sitting in the freezer? Fruit venders at the market sell spotty bananas at a ridiculously cheap price, because most people consider them to have gone bad. But let me tell you a secret- spotty actually means perfectly ripe!

Whenever I see ripe bananas at the market, I get them at the fraction of the price. I would cut and freeze them the moment I got home. They are wonderful frozen for making banana ice cream or as a creamy, sweet base for smoothies like this one.

Smoothie Bottle (665x1024)

Below is a recipe for the Pink Lady Smoothie, and I promise more smoothie recipes will be coming soon- I’m already thinking of the names, and the Orange Fairy Smoothie is going to be a smasher!

Anyways, enough of my random ramblings today. Go make yourself a delicious smoothie chock full of fruity goodness, and enjoy life. 🙂

Smoothie Glass 4 (672x1024)

Pink Grapefruit Smoothie Recipe
(Serves 2)

Ingredients

1 large grapefruit
2 frozen bananas
4 strawberries
1 young coconut, water and flesh of
1/2 cup water
6 ice cubes
1 tablespoon agave nectar (optional)
1 kiwi (for garnish, optional)

Directions

  1. Peel grapefruit and remove membranes from the sections. Rinse the strawberries. Set aside.
  2. Using a sharp object, make a hole in the coconut and pour out the water. Crack the coconut open and scrape out the flesh.
  3. Add everything to the blender and blend until smooth.
  4. Pour into glasses and garnish with kiwi slices. Enjoy!
Share your thoughts

